Flemish Music for Woodwind & Piano
Hidden Facts

KTC 1624 . 1CD . 8711801016245 . 27/08/2018 . Etcetera Records

Hidden Facts

Flemish Music for Woodwind & Piano

  • Robert Groslot (1951-)
  • Erik Desimpelaere (1990)
  • Piet Swerts (1960)
  • Bram Van Camp (1980)
  • Jan Huylenbroeck (1956)

Robert Groslot’s Hibernaculum (2015) begins almost cinematically. The flute and the clarinet swiftly transport us to an idyllic landscape with their compelling melodic dialogue, in which they are subsequently joined by the oboe, bassoon, and horn. Soon we seem to have arrived in a place in which many living organisms dwell. Long lyrical phrases that use the instruments’ full ranges are made denser polyphonically with complex but clear rhythmic patterns. The instruments explore the mysteries of the hibernaculum, the hiding place where animals spend their winter hibernation, with self-directed musicality. The engraving on copper made in 1590 entitled Canticum Canticorum contains the music of a motet by Andreas Pevernage from Harelbeek; this engraving forms the subject of Les cinq Motets d’Mirage (2010) by Erik Desimpelaere. The engraving depicts King Solomon holding a choirbook open before seven high priests; they are performing Pevernage’s five-part motet Osculetur me, in which he set the first four lines of the Song of Solomon, the shortest book of the Old Testament.

Unlike the two previous works, Piet Swerts’ Interaction (2015) was not inspired by a non-musical concept. It is abstract music that researches the interaction between a wind quintet and a piano by means of the music itself. A short and slow introduction by the piano opens the piece. One theme is repeated until the quintet breaks it open and takes the piano in tow. The piano and the oboe take up the theme from the piano with some abruptness.

Bram Van Camp’s fascination for audibly distinct layers of sound that develop independently of each other lies at the heart of his Hidden Facts (2004). Although there are dozens of layers concealed within this composition, the use of only five instruments means that they can never all sound at once. A particular layer can remain inaudible for an indefinite period, but will then resurface at other moments; it has never completely disappeared from sight.

Ragtime is an American musical style that incorporates syncopation in both melody and accompaniment and dates from the end of the 19th century. This music was made for dancing; is was first composed for piano and was played in the countless clubs and bars in New Orleans.


Track listing

1 Hibernaculum (2015) for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn 15:13
artists: 'Focus Wind Quintet '
composers: 'Robert Groslot (1951-)'
2 Les cinq ‘Motets d’Mirages’ (2010) for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn 19:58
artists: 'Focus Wind Quintet '
composers: 'Erik Desimpelaere (1990)'
3 Interaction (2015) for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano 05:12
artists: 'Focus Wind Quintet '
composers: 'Piet Swerts (1960)'
4 Hidden Facts (2004) for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn 07:58
artists: 'Focus Wind Quintet '
composers: 'Bram Van Camp (1980)'
5 High Speed Rag (1986) for flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn 04:19
artists: 'Focus Wind Quintet '
composers: 'Jan Huylenbroeck (1956)'